Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  I Am Not an Expert

Posted 06-24-2022 09:00

I am not an expert.

I'm more of a collector-- of knowledge, of hobbies and interests, of supplies for half finished projects. I can tell you a lot of animal facts, play you a song on the ukulele, and probably have everything you need to build a small art installation. At times it feels like I am just accumulating a lot of unnecessary fluff. Not much more than filling the gaps in conversation. (Did you know crows can remember human faces and hold grudges?)

But it's so fulfilling when I can turn my interests and passions outward. I do enrichment with the dogs I foster and dog-sit. I can put my love of birds into action with the Chicago Bird Collision Monitors . I'm new to gardening, and I do not naturally have a green thumb, but the discussion about dandelions, made me realize that even knowledge about the smallest things can be helpful. Eventually, I would like to grow veggies so I can donate the surplus to a local Love Fridge. I still have not found a use for my limited ukulele skills though. 

What is your area of expertise (big or small) and how have you used it for service? 

------------------------------
    Elisa Meggs

• 2.  RE: I Am Not an Expert

Posted 06-29-2022 09:11
    @Elisa Meggs - I relate to this so much. There's a line from the movie Playing By Heart: "my mind has an endless capacity for useless information." While all of the things you've mentioned have value (and are certainly NOT useless), I think of this frequently as I also collect random tidbits here and there. Feeling like more of a "Jack of some trades" than an expert in any. As I was growing up and searching for The Career that was Going To Be It for me, I was a little self-concious about this. I thought, "I should become an expert in something, rather than knowing a little bit of everything."