Volunteering Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Volunteering during quarantine and Post looting

Posted 06-01-2020 14:19
    Short and sweet
    Rant
    Let's grab some thick gloves and a few masks or scarves and go out and help clean up. Your neighborhood is squeaky clean? Bless your heart. Keep driving and connect with local civic organizations to help. Let's all get some skin in the game. As a small consulting business owner, I work from home, but I can empathize. If going out and helping is a no, consider helping in other ways. Cash is king but limit it to go directly to the people in need. Most people have cash app which I dislike, paypal, square, heck I sent gas money to a person in need via Facebook this morning. No organizational middlemen, (all meat no filler) were necessary. You live in heaven and you are broke too? Well say a prayer, and ask for assistance if you need it. Between COVID 19, scary stuff I've seen on the streets of America, and just trying to maintain sanity and finances, we can all use a vacation. Put a pin in that for next year. Now it is time to "man up" and do a little more.

Ideas for helping locally?
    I am doing a medicine and food run for elderly neighbors, all of the local stores were looted so we have to go hop on the highway to get things done! 
    Please share your ideas with me.

Blessings

Melissa Mitchell
    MGMEGroup

------------------------------
    Melissa Mitchell

• 2.  RE: Volunteering during quarantine and Post looting

Posted 06-01-2020 15:08
    @Melissa Mitchell

Thank you for your rant and for giving a fresh voice to the old adage: "Ask not what my country can do for me, ask what can I do for my country."

I just feel so angry and impotent in all this. How can I be a better ally? A better citizen? A better aganet of change? So I *love* your idea that there is always some way that you can help make things better.